• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

I've noticed a trend that most collectors probably already know,But here goes.

9 posts in this topic

Since I am a newbie to collecting (only about 4yrs seriously) I've noticed that NGC grades all of the Modern U.S. Coins from the mint en masse. I have never seen so many MS69 or 70's so prevalent for uncirculated coins. Do they make deals with dealers on the amount of 69 or 70's they want. To me it seems that dealers can fill out an order sheet for what they want. When I collected certified coins I picked up NGC because of the price. And coins graded by PCGS were at least 25% more in price. Has this always been like this? The owners of NGC are really holding a gold mine.I am not taking a shot at NGC. It's just an observation. Thanks Beck

I have never seen so many MS69 or 70's so prevalent for uncirculated coins. Do they make deals with dealers on the amount of 69 or 70's they want.

On the modern commemoratives getting a coin graded MS69 or MS70 is pretty easy.

The mint is doing a better job at producing coins.

People that send in coins are also getting better at spotting a MS70 over the MS69.

NGC does not make deals with dealers.

I sent in 20 of the bald eagle commemorative and 8 were MS70-PF70 and the rest 69.

Hope this helps!!

I believe the opposite to be the case. I believe the quality at the mint is so high that most coins are legitimate 69's and 70's. I believe it is PCGS who sets an unwritten and unspoken quota on the number of 70's they issue.

Why would they do this, you ask?