• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Purchased My 1st Toned Morgan. Worthy Of A Star??

26 posts in this topic

I have to side with the ATer's here, the colors, the toning pattern near the rims, something is off. Now I am NO expert with this, but I am uncomfortable with this one, sorry.

Couple things:

a) If it looks that vibrant in hand, it's AT IMO.

b) However, I'd be willing to bet that the images are juiced. I'd wager that it is less vibrant in hand.

I'm gonna have to agree with this being AT'd. Chad is right also, if these are sellers pics, I'd wait for it to get inhand to make any other judgements.

Looks like it's in some sort of holder hm

I like the look but the purple is the color that really jumps out at me as being different from normal toning patterns I have seen and I don't see the untoned shadows below the stars and lettering around the periphery that give me a warm and fuzzy that a coin is NT. With that said...this is one I would have to see in hand to make a better judgement because it could have been cleaned and then stuck in an album which is the reason for the slightly odd coloring (shrug)

As far as the star....if it is NT.....I'd vote no but considering some of what I have seen in stared NGC holders....it wouldn't be out of the realm of possibility if the coin has a ton of luster and the colors pop!

It looks star-worthy to me, but I think it would bring as much of a premium as is, as it would with the star. I'm guessing that the color is a bit more subtle in-hand and that it's original.