• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

I need an opinion please... 2008 American Eagle Reverse

17 posts in this topic

I have a question regarding a 2008 American Eagle. I was contemplating putting this on Ebay. As I was looking at it, I noticed that it is a Reverse error or variety (depending on which camp you sit in). I have included a photo. This coin is already graded by PCGS as PR69DCAM obviously graded prior to the reverse discovery.

My question is this:

Should I send this coin in to be graded so the reverse error can be added to the label?

If I send it to be graded would it be better to remove it from the slab and send to NGC with the hopes of a PF70?

What would you do?

Thanks for all the help. I am very new at this and want to do it right!

59102-img039.jpg.62fe891c837f7f514e8d0a50add557e3.jpg

59103-img040.jpg.7932e46894c81b647e186b69d626aae3.jpg

The first question was easy, wasn't it?

As for hoping to get a 70, it is unlikely. I see what might be four very minute "ticks" on the reverse. Two are in the fields, one is on the banner and one is on the shield. If that is what they are (rather than lint), it would keep it from getting a 70 unless you chose to send it to NTC......................NOT! lol

Chris

Actually those pairs of ticks are probably on the plastic--the pairing being from the reflection. However, that milkspot by E in United and to the right of R in Dollar are pretty much a bummer. --Jerry