• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What is a good common coin to get slabbed?

16 posts in this topic

Hi, I was trying to figure out what to do with my free NGC submissions. I thought I might go to a coin shop and try to find a common coin(s) to get slabbed. I am an absolute novice to coin collecting. I collect comics. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. confused.gif

Hey there smile.gif and welcome to this neck of the woods. 1st a few questions.

1. what kinda budget are we talking about here?

2. you have any particular interest in any specific area of coins?

One idea might be to search the pop reports of modern coins to see what types and years don't have many high end MS coins. Then a trip to the coin shop to look at some nice raw coins to grade and buy. If you're good and lucky you might come up with a pop 1 coin that someone trying to upgrade a registry set might be willing to pay a hefty premium for. It's a longshot but might be fun to try without breaking the bank. Kennedys come to mind.

[i was thinking of the price range of $20 to $50 (6 coins). I was thinking of quarters or silver dollars but what do I know. What is the most popular coin to collect? I am thinking more of resale value.]

Resale? As in you want to turn them around, quickly, for a profit? If thats the case, best of luck.

$20-50 each coin or for all 6? If you ware talking per coin might I suggest.

#1 1883 "w/o cents" Liberty Nickel MS63

#2 1892 Columbian MS62/3

#3 1931-S Lincoln MS62 Brown

#4 1916 Mercury Dime MS63 fullband

#5 1881-S Morgan $ MS63 Proof Like

#6 1924 Peace $ MS64