• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1st post - Seated Dollar Grading Quiz?

13 posts in this topic

Hello to all!

With apologies to Mark Feld and others who may have seen this same question on another board, I am interested in getting grading opinions from others regarding my 1847 Seated Dollar that I purchased recently. I am very excited about returning to coin collecting that I once loved in my childhood. It is fun to collect things I couldn't afford then, but the hobby is a is a lot more expensive nowadays.

So, would you grade my dollar AU, and if so, what level? Be as blunt as you like.....I can take it!

100-1847-b.jpg

100-1847-obv.jpg

100-1847-rev.jpg

Welcome to the forum!! I'm not good with these but besides a lot of nics, this seems to have some great details. Looks like some light wear on the eagle's wing tips. I'm not sure that the pics are depicting the actuall colors of this coin but I would venture to say AU. JMO

I don't think this coin can be adequately graded from an image. It's impossible to assess the luster over Liberty's knee or in the fields well enough to make the unc/au determination. With that said, it appears to me to be a 61. Whether that's AU61 or MS61 is anyone's guess. ;)

I don't think this coin can be adequately graded from an image. It's impossible to assess the luster over Liberty's knee or in the fields well enough to make the unc/au determination. With that said, it appears to me to be a 61. Whether that's AU61 or MS61 is anyone's guess. ;)

It couldn't be said any better.

Hey, welcome to the boards! (thumbs u