• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Where to next???

17 posts in this topic

I'm fairly new to the hobby if you don't include my years of collecting as a child.

When I decided to pick the hobby back up I decided to be more eclectic than just going through my pocket change. I decided I wanted to leave something behind to future generations or sell wayyyy down the road for a nice profit. Ergo I thought that I could accomplish that by buying "sets" and high quality low mintage sought after coins. I went basic at first focusing on proof sets and mint sets of normal coinage. Silver sets were focused on the most. I now have the proofs back to 1956 and the mints back to 1959 and I have all the silver proofs from 1992 on.

Now I'm thinking I'm done with those other than my yearly subscriptions with the mint which will keep me current. I currently subscribe to the silver proof sets, proof sets and mint sets.

Focusing on other coins now I wanted an inaugral year gold Buffalo. It was fairly low mintage and has some American history to it and hopefully a following. I have both 2006 and 2007 in proof and I'm awaiting the 2008 proof as I'm a subscriber for that too. I also like the AE silver dollars so I subscribe to both the proofs and the unc's. I also have some from the past which include the anniversarry set of 2006. I love that set! The coins just grab you and you can't help but stare at them. I also buy the First Spouses as they are very low mintage and I expect some interest in those in the future. I have to buy a bunch of them in the future if I want to have the set.