• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

franklin 1948 worth the buy?

16 posts in this topic

I am no Franklin expert, but I don't see that as a 66, with all the ticks on the obverse, I would think maybe 64. It may be an FBL though, hard to tell on those pics. PS-this is not a reputable grading company.

Pay as little as possible for it, and then crack it out before you attempt to sell. I don't know what jtryka is seeing, but that looks much better than a 64 to me. Obviously, they are small pictures and all that, but I would guess this might be a 65 when you get it in hand. Odds are also in your favor that it is a FBL coin, since this is the first year of issue and a D mint. There are more FBL 1948D's than there are non-FBL. Unless there are some marks across the bell lines, you are probably safe there. This is all just my best guess based on really crappy small pictures.

All that being said, I would still ensure a large safety margin before actually purchasing this, but that should be easy to obtain with an NNC holder (coins actually sell for more when raw than in NNC holders).

I would definitely pay more than MS-60 money for it (what's that like $8?), I would be willing to pay 64 money for it, which I think a 64FBL is like $50 or so.

I would pay $0.00 for that coin. It's in a holder that one should never buy a coin in. This coin is affordable in either NGC or PCGS holders, and you'd be wasting your money otherwise.

I would pay $0.00 for that coin. It's in a holder that one should never buy a coin in. This coin is affordable in either NGC or PCGS holders, and you'd be wasting your money otherwise.

Yes, I agree.

Don't feed the animals. (tsk)