• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ng thingNEWBIE Needs Help! Is This a die to strike morgans?

22 posts in this topic

Please be easy on me, I'm new to the whole coin collecting thing. I receintly came across what appears to be a reverse die from the New Orleans mint for a Morgan Dollar. It is about 4"x4" with 6 holes. Heavy metal with copper like finish. The image is the reverse of a morgan with the "O" mintmark. It has not been defaced. I am wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction to find out more about it. I have searched the web for a picture of a Morgan die but to no avail. Obviously I do not know much about Morgans or coins in general and I am hoping that someone from the expert side of being in the know can help. I will also post a picture if interested and someone can tell me how to do it.

Thanks for any help.

You really need to post a picture in order for anyone to help you. "4 x 4 with 6 holes does not sound like a U.S. mint coinage die. Beyond that we really need a picture to guess what you have.

Welcome Lootfinder! Here is a link to a morgan die. These seem to have been very rare and doesn't sound like what you are describing.

I thought I'd bump myself because I think we posted\at the same time Lootfinder.

Thanks bsshog40,

That is not what I have. I would sure like to post a picture of what I do have since I feel like an insufficiently_thoughtful_person trying to describe what might just be some sort of novilty item. Are there instructions on how to post a picture on here somewhere?

Thanks!