• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Precious metals in a safety deposit box question

34 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

Im new to the world of collecting and recently inherited some St. Gaudens gold and have also purchased some platinum coins that i have put in a bank safety deposit box. I have heard through the grapevine that s.d.b.'s are not safe from the U.S. Patriot Act 1 & 2 because the government can seize precious metals stored in banks. Is this info accurate? If s.d.b.'s aren't practical, do most collectors have Brinks or the like hold their metals? I would like to know your opinions on this matter. Thank you!

I have not looked into the provisions of the Patriot Act, but keep in mind two things; the first is that no one has to know what is in a safe deposit box aside from the owner of the box and the second is the likelihood of such a seizure.

Welcome to ye olde forum, Spinner. :hi: You have come to the right place for information.

As much as I distrust "Big Brother", I have to agree that the likely hood of your coins being confiscated is slim. On the other hand, events can change, and if the wrong people are elected to office, I may have to rethink my position.

BTW, we would love to see pictures if you'd care to show them to us. :)

This event is currently remote and in my opinion, will remain so for the foreseeable future. But if you are really worried about that, the only real alternative you have is to store any metals you want to own outside the United States. If a gold recall occurs as it did in 1933, there is no assurance that Brinks or anyone else would not be covered by it and if they are, you are absolutely guaranteed that they will comply with it.