• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Merry Christmas to all!!! Centerpiece coin.

16 posts in this topic

This 1802 dollar is the Centerpiece of my coin collection. I bought it about 15 to 20 years ago. It is (woefully under)graded at MS 61 in an old PCGS rattler. I'd grade the obverse a 63 and the reverse a 64 (not that I've got a lot of experience grading DB material). In the summer of 2005 I took it to the ANA convention in SF just to get a feel for what it is worth these days, and was offered between 63 and 64 money for it. It really was quite amusing in that while I was browsing the bourse I literally had dealers following me from table to table trying to either (A) hold on to the coin a little longer, or (B) try and buy it from me. Needless to say, that's the only time that's happened to me. Since then I've taken it to a couple of Santa Clara shows to show to board members. I'll show it to the occaissional dealer there too, and again they all go ga-ga.

The coin is very well struck, with just a little softness in the breast (after all, a lot of material has to get in there). The shield is well struck, so I'm not sure why in the image it's a bit fuzzy, it must have something to do with the scan/picture. The image (on my monitor) is a little darker than the coin actually is. Also, the wings of the eagle have a faint gunmetal blue hint to them. Anyhow, this seemed an appropriate coin to put on this site to celebrate this time of year.

Best wishes to everyone for a Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and a Happy and Healthy New Year!!!

DrapedBust_MS61.jpg