• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What exactly is a "conflict of interest"? And is it necessarily "bad"?

12 posts in this topic

Much recent discussion focuses on "conflict of interest". I'm no lawyer, and maybe my understanding is poor, so let me try an analogy.

Suppose Moe, Joe and Flo are each the only and equal partners in ABCGS, a coin grading company. They share profits equally. Each also happens to be a grader for the company. Two graders are required to grade a coin.

Flo submits a coin to ABCGS, and Moe and Joe grade it.

My questions:

Does the potential for conflict of interest exist?

What are the ramifications, if any?

Much recent discussion focuses on "conflict of interest". I'm no lawyer, and maybe my understanding is poor, so let me try an analogy.

Suppose Moe, Joe and Flo are each the only and equal partners in ABCGS, a coin grading company. They share profits equally. Each also happens to be a grader for the company. Two graders are required to grade a coin.

My questions:

The remifications are obvious, and it's one of the reasons why none of the "home grown" grading services that are run by active dealers have never gottne much traction in the market.

There is also the problem of large coin dealers holding significant equity interests in companies like Collectors' Universe. It's just a fact the collectors should keep in mind when they purchase certifed coins from those firms.