• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Warning : Ebay powerseller alex54

16 posts in this topic

I'm a newb here, so take it easy on me.

I know, read all the warnings about raw coins on ebay but live and learn. Bought a coin from Alex last week, a 1880 half eagle in supposed "BU+" condition according to the title. Ended up with a coin that is EF, maybe low AU at best.

Going back to them immediately for a refund but lost out on freight/insurance. They wouldn't pick up the freight, trying to justify that my final bid price did not justify an BU+ coin :screwy: What a crappy excuse. You normally bid on items that you feel are undervalued anyways.

Anyways, there's my rant, avoid Alex54 (even though he has a good rating, I suspect he gets many returns) and everyone welcome me into this board !

I'm a newb here, so take it easy on me.

I know, read all the warnings about raw coins on ebay but live and learn. Bought a coin from Alex last week, a 1880 half eagle in supposed "BU+" condition according to the title. Ended up with a coin that is EF, maybe low AU at best.

Going back to them immediately for a refund but lost out on freight/insurance. They wouldn't pick up the freight, trying to justify that my final bid price did not justify an BU+ coin :screwy: What a crappy excuse. You normally bid on items that you feel are undervalued anyways.

Anyways, there's my rant, avoid Alex54 (even though he has a good rating, I suspect he gets many returns) and everyone welcome me into this board !

Auction

Sounds like an OK transaction to me. You purchased a coin, didn't like it, returned it, and got a full refund minus S&H. That's a standard way things work. :shrug: Sorry.