• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

On turning 21.

22 posts in this topic

I'll be turning 21 in just over 5 weeks. I've never been much of one to drink, I've never gone out clubbing. That's just not really my style. All the same, I feel the need to do something special to mark the day. It just hit me today just what I think that should be. I want to purchase a 1/4 ounce 2007 Gold American Eagle in MS70. I would love to go for a 1/2 ounce or 1 ounce coin but I'm a college student and I don't think I can get away with that level of expenditure (I could probably pull off the 1/2 coin but I probably wouldn't survive my mother if I did).

This does present me with another problem however. I've never priced gold. I see one dealer offering one for $243+shipping, which seems reasonable but I'm not sure.

Anyone willing to offer a comment for a college kid considering his first gold purchase?

I realize you are looking to buy a certified MS70, however, these often come from the US Mint as either MS69 or MS70 and I do not think the certification will help you in the future if you need to liquidate the purchase. Therefore, have you simply thought of purchasing one from the US Mint? The burnished 2007-W quarter-ounce AGEs are $195.95 while the proof 2007 quarter-ounce AGEs are $209.95 and both come with rather attractive original Mint packaging.