• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Found an S-mint quarter in circulation.

11 posts in this topic

The other day I found a New York state quarter with an S mintmark in the register at work. It was really bright and shiny so I wanted to have it anyway and didn't notice the S until I got home and inspected it. I'm still an amateur at coin collecting so I don't know much about the whole thing. I know the S quarter were only released as proof coins and not into circulation. But since I found one in circulation, I was wondering how much it might be worth.

Howdy and welcome. If it is the clad version then I would believe it would be worth face value or just slightly above face value. The silver version would of course be worth at least silver melt.

Proof coins are specially handled, they are never touched with bare fingers nor are they allowed to come in contact with other coins (this handling avoids finger prints and marks, scratches to the surfaces of the coin) and are put into holders for sale to the public.

Once a proof coin is released into circulation any numerous things can happen to the extra polished and frosted surfaces and the value diminishes significantly over protected coins.

Still something unique to find in change...good eye and welcome to the forum.

Welcome to the forum Eric. Hope you will have fun and be educated on many aspects of coin collecting, for I know I have. To answer your question on the value of circulated modern coins, I think ebay auctions prices would be a good place to start.

John :hi: