• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Let's Go South of the Border

22 posts in this topic

I changed the images on the 2 Reale above to show their true look.

Here is also the same year, 1861 but the 1/2 Reale.

Rey

1861CH.MoHalfRObv.jpg

1861CH.MoHalfRRev.jpg

I am my no means an expert on these. The first image looks odd, but the bottom images look nice. To me all the right details are there for the coin. I would say yes.

Rey

I’m no expert either.

The top image was taken in my kitchen under a florescent daylight bulb. The bottom image is the same except I auto balanced the color. The background is supposed to be white.

Stan, very nice Hermosillo 8 Reales. Check on both sides of the middle bottom ray and you should see the "dragon teeth" - anti-counterfeit device that came with standardizing dies for all of the Mexican mints.

Here are a few of mine:

1849 San Luis Potosi Mint:

1849-potosi-8r.jpg

1843 Mexico City Mint:

Mexico-1843-MM-8R.jpg

1826 Zacatecas Mint:

Mexico-1826-ZS-8R.jpg

1842 Guanajuato Mint:

18421-guanajuato-8r.jpg

1857 Chihuahua Mint:

1857-chihuahua-8r.jpg

~Roman

This coin is actually 1861 Mo CH. Mo is the mint mark for Mexico City and CH are the assayers initials. This is a nice specimen but is the most common date and mint combination for the denomination. (It is the only 2R that comes up for sale in high grade with any frequency.)