• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Trying to learn...

14 posts in this topic

Thanks again for everyone putting up with a total novice...

I wanted to post this PCGS 1849 Seated Liberty Dollar MS 64 I found on ebay... If you read my prior posts you will know 1) I don't know what I'm doing and 2) I spent a bit of cash to learn that fact.

Now I'll take the approach that I should learn from you guys. Can you give me any comments on why this coin that looks sweet to me is not worth the money (I at least trust that I should run away from my instincts in this industry (shrug) ).

seatedobv-1.jpg

seatedrev-1.jpg

It is a "to each his own" sort of question. The coin has been dipped to remove its original toning, which is not my preference. But there are others that prefer untoned coins. So the answer is buy what you like. And stick with PCGS, NGC, or ANACS graded coins and you at worst will be OK.

... there are quite a number of Seated Lib experts on this board... but I'd be thinking that there are quite a number of bag marks for 64...especially to the reverse fields ...color looks a tad hazy as well but that could just be an artifact of imaging....L

I don't know how true-to-life the images are, but based upon them, the coin looks dipped and lackluster. I do not think that the visible marks are inconsistent with the assigned grade, considering the size of the coin and the images

These were big, heavy coins with large, open fields that seemed to act as a magnet for milling marks or other hits. I agree that the marks do not appear bad for the grade, but it also has been dipped to heck and back. To my eye, this is not an attractive state.