• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Another Newbie Here

25 posts in this topic

I used to collect coins as a kid looking to jam every coin I could get into those blue Whitman folders just intent on filling in all the holes with little understanding of grade, rarity and value. As a kid in school, there was no way I could "buy" any coins. A few months ago, 25 years later, I found my old collection stored away in boxes and decided to take up the hobby again. I was suprised to find a about 100 '71 Ikes, various Morgans, various Silver Eagles and '64 Kennedys.

Anyway, looking forward to reading and learning more about my rejuvenated hobby. Pardon me if I should ask some very "newbie" questions in the future.

Welcome SEC! You have started back into the hobby the way that many do - and it's a fun road! A few years ago I began going through my old collection from when I was a kid and also my parents' collection. The process took me two years! It was a fun journey, though, and in the meanwhile I did the ANA's Numismatic Scholar course and read all I could. I'm still reading and learning, and the hobby simply changes and evolves for me now, like never before. Hope you have so much fun!

Hoot

Welcome. I still have many of my Whitman folders I assembled as a kid. Some of the cheap coins I bought back then have become expensive coins, believe it or not; even some cleaned ones, like my bust halves There's nothing like finding out a $10 coin is now a $100 coin wink.gif

Welcome, SEC.