• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Quarter Eagle (Off Center)

26 posts in this topic

Yes, I looked at the picture. How else would I not know what the error was? I still don't see an off center coin in your image, are you certain you are linking the proper image?

I also see the irregularities in the denticles, however, I don't believe this to be due to an off center strike. Rather, I think the striking pressure was not uniform, or, there was some post minting damage. I would lean to an uneven strike. In my opinion, and I am not an expert on errors, this coin would not be an error and would not be off center.

Given that the "error" is either hard to see or non-exsistant I'd say there would be no premium on this coin, IMO.

jom

Hmmm ..I don't believe I'm the only one who can see the error. I'm new to all this coin stuff so please take that into account.

Ok at twelve o'clock on the coin you will see a nice flat rim on the edge, which is outside the "beads".

At 6 o'clock you will see that the "beads " go right to the edge of the coin.

I have done a little research on the net and have found out that errors on gold coins are very rare. Here is a link to to a coin that is just a little bit more off center that the one I have a it sold for 13,500, Take a look and tell me what you think?

http://www.raregoldcoins.com/get_cotm.asp?cotmYear=2002&cotmMonth=3