• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

20th Anniversary SAE Question

12 posts in this topic

There was a thread about the 'first strike' designation and its import. I have a similar question. What is the significance of the 2006 20th Anniversary designation for the MS silver eagle? Is it not the same coin as the 2006 silver eagle MS 70 without that 20th anniversary (I think its the NGC black label) designation? Prices seem to indicate otherwise.

p.s. I'm new to this so please pardon stupid questions!

Welcome Eastcoast! hi.gif The designation is just to show that it actually came from the commemorative set. The MS SAE is the same as the 06'W SAE that I know of. Some have been described as "Burnished" confused-smiley-013.gif I think the value difference is only based on the Commemorative 20th Annv issue Designation. I actually have an MS69 in an NGC holder and I also have the 06'W Unc. in raw form and I have a raw Annv. set and I see know difference in any of the 3 Uncirculated eagles, with the "W" mintmark of course.

The two coins are identical differing only in the designation. The non 20th anniversary MS eagles were sold seperate in their own government packaging. The 20th anniversary designated eagles are designated such because they could be verified as being sold in the three coin set. Many 2006 W MS eagles are in fact 20th anniversary eagles but failed to get the designation because the buyers of the 20th anniversary set opened their package before sending it to a grading service. This effectively prevented them from being proven to originate from the 20th anniversary set.

Jeff

Thanks for the quick response guys! My cousin's husband got me into this a few months ago and it is certainly addictive!