• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Dipping 40% silver Ike?

18 posts in this topic

I just got a 1971-S 40% silver Ike in the mail and it's hazed as all heck. It was in a blue token mint pack, which I've just liberated it from. Do 40% silver coins like this one dip well? I'd like to try and get some of that nasty haze off of the coin, but I've never done any dipping before. I figure that a $6 coin is a good place to learn. Any tips, products, etc? Thanks!

BTW, is the blue token that came with the Ike collectable? I don't especially want it.

No, I don't think I can handle that kind of quality. 27_laughing.gif Yeah, that'd be great if mine would come out looking that nice (although this is an MS coin). What's the product of choice?

EDIT: we posted at the same time. This coin is hazed really badly. I think in this case, I want to dip it and then store it properly this time around. Those old mint cellophane packs trash coins.

I would think an MS coin would have quite a bit of different outcome than this proof kennedy had. The polished finish is much more durable than normal luster. I would think trying to dip off the haze may jeopardize the luster. As you said also, it can be replaced for another $6.

No proof sets were made in 1967.

My bad! foreheadslap.gif Let me re-state my statement. I think that Cam and Dcam would have a more durable finish than plain MS luster!

I would think an MS coin would have quite a bit of different outcome than this proof kennedy had. The polished finish is much more durable than normal luster. I would think trying to dip off the haze may jeopardize the luster. As you said also, it can be replaced for another $6.

Well, then it should be perfect for an experiment wink.gif