• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

PVC Holders - 60 Pocket Coin Wallet

16 posts in this topic

Hello!

I am new to the NGC board, and relatively new back to the world of coin collecting. I collected pennies and nickels when I was younger, and recently got back into it. My tastes are a little more expensive than when I was 9 years old however :-).

I have a quick PVC related question. I would like to use a coin wallet album style holder for gold bullion coins and semi-numismatics to keep in a safety deposit box. I realize that condition of these coins is not a major contributor to value, but I would still like to keep them looking nice. I bought an 60-pocket 5x7 HE Harris album, and am currently using non-PVC flips to hold the coins inside the pockets. Recently, I found out that the pockets themselves have PVC, even though the flips I am using do not. Will the presence of PVC, even if not touching the physical coin, haze or damage my coins over the long term? If so, who makes an album like this without PVC? I saw the "SafeT" album, but have had 2 vendors tell me it is PVC, and 2 others tell me it is not pvc. I also saw one at www.coinholder.com that is mylar, but never heard of "CoinHolder", and I'd rather the 7" long album to the 11" long album.

Any help you could provide would be appreciated!

Look forward to reading more posts and getting myself back into the hobby more! cool.gif

JakeBlues2