• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Plastic versus paper wrapper from the Mint?

23 posts in this topic

Sorry, total newb here regarding coins...

Can anyone please tell me why coins sometime come in a plastic wrapper instead of paper when obtained from a bank? These are for new state quarters. Thanks!

I appreciate any information you guys could provide!

I'm pretty sure the plastic wraps are locally wrapped by the bank themselves.

Are you sure? I bought a box and they are all brand new Montana state quarters. Doesn't make sense that they would take them out of the paper wrapper and put them into the plastic packaging.

I HATE the plastic wrappers! They don't hold up well to being banged around, and they are ugly! I like the paper MUCH better.

Ugh plastic.

Coins that you get from your bank are wrapped by the armored car companies after they take them out of the mint bags.

I think this is correct but I'm thinking the armored car services get big bins and not bags. I think bags are going out.

Coins that you get from your bank are wrapped by the armored car companies after they take them out of the mint bags.

I think this is correct but I'm thinking the armored car services get big bins and not bags. I think bags are going out.

I can understand that, but why would they open the boxes, take take the coins out of the wrappers, then rewrap them in plastic, and then box them up again? confused.gif

These are uncirculated state quarters I am talking about.

I can understand that, but why would they open the boxes, take take the coins out of the wrappers, then rewrap them in plastic, and then box them up again? confused.gif

These are uncirculated state quarters I am talking about.