• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Questions from a new user

12 posts in this topic

Hi,

I joined a couple weeks ago and have been lurking. I am very new at this and have a couple very basic questions. I apologize if this is not in the right forum.

First, how can you tell for sure if a coin has been cleaned? I have a couple nice coins I would like to have graded but don't want to send them in if they will not be graded.

Next, what is the best resources for learning how to grade?

Any help will be appreciated,

Terry

For the cleaning question, if you can take a good close-up picture and post it here, there are people on board (I'm not one of them) who can look at the pic tell sometimes.

Or you can take it to a coin dealer and ask his opinion, but make sure he's a dealer you can trust.

An agressively cleaned coin will have alot of hairline scratches. You may need to post pics depending on the coin so these cannot be mistaken for poor die strikes also. I own an ANA grading standards book and just purchased a "Photograde" book. Both these books have been very helpful for me. There are alot of knowledgeable collectors here on the forum and pictures always help also. Welcome to the forum Terry. hi.gif

Welcome,

You can also go to a web site such as Heritage Auctions and join for free which will give you access to unlimited pics of all coins which can be very helpful in comparing to what you have grade wise and value wise.

Also, take advantage of the NGC Registry and the pics from Registry members of their collection and descriptions.

rbrown4

hi.gif HI Welcome

Post some pictures we love to see them!