• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

1797 cent NEWP - let's see your'97s!

26 posts in this topic

I was delighted in the Long Beach Heritage auction to have snagged a couple of nice large cents. By far, the best of these for me was a 1797 S-138. (It's one of the "Reverse of 1797, with stems" Red Book varieties.) This is a very tough coin to find problem-free, and often comes with all sorts of planchet and strike problems.

When I first saw this piece, I was surprised to see it in an ANACS holder net graded XF45 corroded. I studied the photo carefully, lightening it and enlarging it variously to try to see the noted problem. No matter how I looked at the coin, I simply could not see evidence of corrosion or any other problem. In short, I bid strong on the coin but got it for a very low price, given the detail.

I've received the coin, have cracked it from its tomb, and have sat long with it, absolutely dazzled in amazement. I don't know how ANACS made such an incredible error, but the coin shows absolutely no corrosion or remnants thereof. Also, the coin is beautifully colored and indeed has XF details, even in EAC terms. I grade the coin XF40 details/net, A+. I believe that the coin is worthy of the condition census for the variety.