• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

To First Strike or Not First Strike is the question

8 posts in this topic

I’m pretty new to the coin world, stepping out of the U.S. stamp world and I’m trying to learn something here. Now I’m sure this topic has been discussed before but this has been bugging me since I started collecting coins last year. Now I was wandering if it really means that much to the collector that he or she has to have a first strike or early release coin in the particular grade they are looking for versus a coin just graded without that designation on it. I mean does it really matter to the coin collector that they have the first coin off the presses or the last one if they both grade a 70, what’s the difference??? It is still the same coin, right! If I’m missing something here please fill me in, because at this point I’d rather pay for the one without the designation “first strike” for a little lower price, than pay the premium. Now I do not mean to offend anyone that is hell bent on getting that first strike coin, by all means go for it, I just don’t understand the whole concept. Was this something that the coin collectors wanted or is this something that the grading services just decided to start?? Thanks in advance for any input!!! confused.gif

Lem,