• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Interesting coin shop that marks prices up after picking coins out of the box.

31 posts in this topic

I frequent a certain coin shop about once every two months. The store is full retail, but I enjoy perusing their inventory for "special" coins that meet my needs. I've been stopping by for about 3 years. On the last three occasions, the owner has shown me a couple of boxes of coins. I proceed to take the coins out and ask for a loupe for closer inspection. As I am looking at the coins, the owner says that he can't sell me them at the assigned prices and proceeds to mark up each coin 20%. Now, I understand that this dealer has purchased most, if not all, of the coins OTC and the profit is good, but I question the etiquette and business practice. I don't whine about it, since it's not my store. There is only one other dealer who would mark up coins in front of me, but that was after I passed on the coin, not before. Needless to say, I passed on all "marked up" coins. I still stop by, but only to cherrypick, which sometimes can be quite profitable. grin.gif

TRUTH

The only time I've had that happen to me, the prices on the 2x2s were very attractive - until the dealer said that that was the price he paid and that he couldn't sell to me at the marked price!

Truth, have you asked the dealer what his "assigned" prices represent and why he's raising them for/to you? Also, why not ask him to quote prices for each coin in the box BEFORE you indicate to him which ones you want to have a better look at and might have interest in? devil.gif