• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Airplanenut's Charity Auction #6... It's that time of year again! Prelim. Info

4 posts in this topic

Hi,

As many of you know, I have been running charity coin auctions for the past few years--I started as a sophomore in high school, and now I'm a sophomore in college. After many years of supporting the R.S. Hirshberg Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer research, who helped my grandfather when he was being treated for the disease, I was finally able to meet the founders last January, where I spoke at their annual symposium at UCLA, and was able to hand-deliver a $3600 check from the just-completed Charity Auction #5. The check was later supplemented with the funds from a few more payments.

This past summer, I was invited to work in the UCLA labs researching pancreatic cancer, alongside the doctors and surgeons that treated my grandfather. I stayed with the founder of the RSH Foundation, and was able to spend time helping out in their office, as well. What I saw first hand was good news and sad news. Progress is being made in researching the disease, but it is still far from being cured, and the mortality rate for 5 years is about 99.9%. I also I'm heard some of the stories of people the foundation is helping, and saw the many other lives touched by the disease.