• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Photo focus question/tip

9 posts in this topic

Well, I'm still learning how to use my new digital SLR. Most if not all of the good photographers on the forums say to use manual focus. I have been doing that but have been somewhat unhappy with the results so today I've been using autofocus with batter results. My guess is my aging eyesight is not in focus with the chip. I have 20/20 eyesight or better at distance but up close I need reading glasses. I guess the latter condition is causing some out of focus.

Autofocus seems to be helping. Here's a photo I took this morning on autofocus and posted across the street in a VAM thread.

1878trust.jpg

--Jerry

I use manual focus but with the help of the focus light. On nikons (not sure what Canon has) there is a round dot that will show up in the viewfinder when the focus is good. It works well most of the time. One trick to use is to get the focus close and then use the height adjustment on your copystand to adjust the fine focus (if its got a crank adjustment).

Seems to me that autofocus commonly has a hard time at close quarters and manual is more consistent.

Edit: most eyepieces on SLR's have a diopter adjustment to help with eyes that aren't in focus.

Hi Jerry,

What DSLR are you using? Many camera companies make magnifiers that fit on over the view finder’s eyepiece and some DSLRs have the capability of changing the focusing screen, personally I’ve enjoyed using a split image screen in my cameras.