• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Determining if coin is silver or copper-nickel

12 posts in this topic

New Forum member here.

I have been collecting silver coins from around the world for close to four years now. Most of the time, I have tried to avoid coins that were minted in both silver and copper-nickel - unless a Certificate of Authenticity was included.

I have been able to acquire a silver coin from every country in all the continents except Africa (still need a coin from nine countries there). I also have a coin from several island countries ("Oceania").

Needless to say, it is getting harder to avoid considering coins from the few remaining countries needed to complete my collection that have both silver and copper-nickel versions.

How can one tell the difference? I have a coin that I know is copper-nickel, but it is a "frosted" Proof coin that looks as nice as any silver Proof coins that I have. I also have what I suspect is a copper-nickel coin that was sold to me as silver Proof, but it does not have the "frosted" appearance of other silver proofs.

Sometimes I can find similar coins on eBay (that have certificates), which will help me to determine if what I have is silver or not.

Other than that, how can I determine a coin's composition if I have one that I am unsure of?

Best regards,

Curtis

I believe the only solution would be to research your series.

Knowing the weights, measures, history as well as the minting process of each series.