• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1953 steel penny?

22 posts in this topic

I recently purchased several rolls of pennies and came across a 1953 penny that appeared to be steel. It is not attracted to a magnet, but doesn't appear to be painted either. There are some scratches on the field of the coin, and no copper is visible.

I also found a 1973 penny that has the appearence of a gold coin. Since I am new to the hobby, I would appreciate any feedback on either coin. Thanks in advance.

There weren't any foreign brass coins that would have worked for a cent made in 1973. There was the Philippines 5 centimos in Denver in 1972 and then same in both SF and Denver in 1974. The planchets were 2.50 grams.

See if you can get the coin weighed accurately first. Maybe the coin shop or a local jeweler will have a scale and do this for you.

Also, does your coin have a S or D mintmark below the date?

I think that was 1942. edit Lots of interesting stuff.

That one has the same portrait as one of my currently most wanted coins, the Colombia two centavos 1920-38. It may be easier to find the pattern than one of them in unc. wink.gif

Edited by spiny

There is no mint mark. What will the weight tell me?

It'll help narrow down the possibilities. If it was 2.5 grams, then the chances would be good for being struck on a foreign planchet. If it's 3.11 grams or a little over, chances are good that it's been messed with.

Ken Potter sells brass pennies on his web site( go to CONECA web site and get links or use the one below) and in ads in either coin world or numismatic news . It is just a case of where the mixture of copper and other metals did not mix properly and ya end up with a mostly brass planchete. Nothing rare or major , price-wise , mostly an oddity .