• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

A question about 2 cent pieces and grading.

6 posts in this topic

I have been thinking about starting to collect 2 cent pieces.

I have no real knowledge as far as grading them so I have been studying different auction sites to get a feel for different aspects of MS grades.

I was at heritage when I came across this auction and as I was studying the Pics I was taken aback by the rim. Is this a common thing for 2 cent pieces?

Or is this an Error of some sort.

in truth I find it rather disturbing and was wondering if this was the reason for the grade.

Any input is ,as always,Greatly appreciated.

Those are rim cuds and while they are not rare, they are not particularly common on two cent pieces. I don't think they affected the grade in any way. That coin is just a low end MS coin and not particularly attractive to me. 1864 is the most common date and easy to find ( I have six of them in MS). I would hold out for a nicer one.

Here's my only MS62 deuce, graded by ANACS. I generally prefer a bit higher grade but this is all I have come up with for this date yet.

1449282-1871.jpg

1449282-1871.jpg.38f9bd4a419302b83a0ad16ddde5400c.jpg

Thanks RGT, Of the three top TPG's who do you find nails it most consistantly?

For that matter is ICG comparable?

I am not looking for Extream or even High graded.64 or 65 would be fine.

And I am patient.As I am still learning I don't look at much raw material.

Thanks again for your input.

If there is anything else you think a novice in this series should know please feel free.

Thanks RGT, Of the three top TPG's who do you find nails it most consistantly?

For that matter is ICG comparable?