• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How many here will NOT buy Raw coins?

25 posts in this topic

I'll admit I used to try and stick with slabbed but over time I've gotten more comfortable buying Raw coins.

While I will buy a raw bust half or similar coin, I would still not be comfortable purchasing a raw SVDB or 16d dime.....due to counterfeits and whatnot.

I’m still learning so aside from a couple series or buying from someone that I trust I like to buy my more expensive coins in trusted slabs. That said, I do buy raw coins up to about $100.

I should note that the first two coins that I bought were both over two hundred dollars, both raw, and both, I found out later, improperly cleaned. I know that Tom feels badly for me tongue.gif That was before I found this forum, started reading coin books, etc.

I can agree with Winston somewhat. Raw coins that carry a hefty pricetag, I would prefer to have them in slabs. I will buy raw myself for up to about $75. After that, especially on gold coins, I buy slabbed.

I would rather buy my coins raw and then submit them for grading because this is a cheaper option. But I am no longer going to buy raw coins unless it is for a large discount to a slabbed coin or which is frequently the case for my material, the specimen immediately for sale is the only one available.