• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Coin Dipping???What is it? Your thoughts about artificial toning???

11 posts in this topic

Coin Dipping???What is it? Your toughts about artificial toning???

I have heard people talk about this since I am kinda new to collecting still,(been doin it for 2 1/2 years) and still learning everyday. I was wondering what dipping is and why is it such a big deal? or is it? I have also heard artificial toning is bad is this true? ans why? just a few questions here please give me any thoughts you might have on these issues... thanks fellow collector stooges.gif

You opened the can of worms up.

Question 1. Dipping is not always bad, but people tend to use it for the wrong reasons. Alot of coins have lost originality because of it.

Question 2. What defines AT? Many people have different definitions of it. AT coins are bad for the simple fact many people buy them as NT not knowingly. They will bring a premium and thus the problem. It also harms the coins surfaces.

Basically I am wondering what do they dip them in tho that causes these AT to happen at a faster rate? I also agree that not all AT is bad, but am just trying to understand how this works. thanks for reply stooges.gif

AT has been a hot hopic many times. There are a million and one ways to AT a coin. Heat, Chemicals, etc etc... Do a search for MS70. It was a big topic of debate as far as toned Indian proofs go. I doubt you will get anybody in the know to tell you how it is precisly done. You may not replicate the results, but some bozo reading would try it.

Coin Dipping???What is it? Your toughts about artificial toning???