• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

mkt. acceptable support for a BLUE toned copper doctor....THANKS!! NGC!!

54 posts in this topic

Hum these must have been submitted recently. That's disappointing. Is there a good way to tell if IHCs have been touched up with MS70 or whatever? I have no knowledge in copper.

As with any other toned coin, it helps if you can detect a patina on it. I doubt these blue coppers have a patina on them and would stay away.

How does using MS70 (a cleaner) imply "doctoring"? I have to apologise to everyone but IMO this issue is a waste of internet bandwidth...

If people would pull their heads out of their bunglehole and QUIT paying stupid prices for toned coins and stop paying huge premiums for small differences in grades this would be a NON-ISSUE....but...alas...this won't happen anytime anytime soon I imagine. foreheadslap.gif

jom

How does using MS70 (a cleaner) imply "doctoring"? I have to apologise to everyone but IMO this issue is a waste of internet bandwidth...

If people would pull their heads out of their bunglehole and QUIT paying stupid prices for toned coins and stop paying huge premiums for small differences in grades this would be a NON-ISSUE....but...alas...this won't happen anytime anytime soon I imagine. foreheadslap.gif

jom

Using MS70 to clean/tone coins is doctoring because it adds a color which was not on the coin originally and, in general, leads to a higher grade and money made for those who engage in this behavior. Some try and spin this as conservation -- but let's call a spade a spade -- it is a way to make money off the unsuspecting, and NGC is party to it by certifying these coins.