• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

does this coin need conservation?

4 posts in this topic

hi there,

i'm relatively new to the world of coin collecting and i recently joined the collector's society. i want to send some coins in for grading and i'm having a hard time picking what is worthy of grading. i just bought this barber half dollar and it seems like it could use some of your handywork before i have it graded. i guess i'm not sure if it could be graded without being touched up. what do you think?

thanks, sue

1307879-1912BarberHalfObverse.jpg.f9cb1bc0c40737711e095db601d96411.jpg

It is difficult to tell for certain what is on your coin and thus difficult to say exactly what professional conservation might be able to do to your coin. It does seem safe to say that some conservation work would be beneficial to the piece whether it is a residue removal or lightening of the toning. It would be best to submit this coin for professional conservation so that it can be examined in depth.

Chris, NCS