• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

I am not very happy.

26 posts in this topic

About five years ago, I became a agressive buyer in a certain field of coin collecting. Many dealers knew I would collect very high end and colorful material. With the advent of Registry sets three years ago and the escalation in prices, I have been quite ignored, or at the very least, dropped down the pecking order. In fact, serveral of my coin sources have told me, if I don't buy it at XXX price, someone else will. I have been collecting for many, many years and have developed great relationships, but for some reason, with today's marketers, it seems that the long term relationship has been cast aside for the short term big money relationship that might be gone 6 months from now. Am I alone? 893scratchchin-thumb.gif

TRUTH

Dealers need profits to stay in business. They need to maximize profits. If you are willing to pay their price I'm sure they would be willing to sell to you.

How would they feel if they sold it to you at a discount becuase you really like the coin, and in a short period of time decide to sell? It would look like you were taking advantage of them.

Sometimes the truth hurts.

Sad but true TruthTeller, $$ talks & bs walks. I guess I don't want the coins I want as much as the guys that want their name in the marquee lights do.

I'm an old dinosauer that would rather pay for the coin, not bragging rights.

I have found the same thing with one or two dealers. As long as you are willing to pay their asking price for the top stuff you can stay on top of the list, but as soon as you send a fingerprinted coin back or say a price is too high, you become a pain.