• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

My most recent acquisition – an 1893 Morgan

14 posts in this topic

I decided to put together a Morgan date set with all coins in VF to XF. I really want all the coins to have a similar look about them. I blew two months budget on this one purchase so I probably won’t be posting anything new for a while. Anyway, I just wanted to see what your thoughts were on this coin. BTW the picture is a lot brighter than the coin in hand. I had to use my scanner, I'm not that good with a camera. Oh, AND I got my Dansco 7070 album in yesterday - Woo-Hoo! There is something exciting about getting a brand new album – oh, the possibilities!

1893morgansmallester1qc.jpg

Hays

Very nice original coin. Great acquisition! Have fun collecting them. Many would say that you are wise purchasing the rarities first ahead of the common dates.

Being such a bright scan, it does make the coin look cleaned. Therefore, I took the liberty of bringing your image in, sizing it down, then hitting the old "auto adjust" button, and the result is shown below. From this new version of the scan, I think the coin looks really nice. Congratulations!

junk9775.jpg

James

Good job, James. That scan does look a ton better. No offense to you Brotherman, does it look more like your scan, or James' scan in hand? Is it blast white, or quaintly colored?