• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

i apologize , i am new to this,,,

6 posts in this topic

i am getting my coins ready to be sent out for my first time grading ever.

then it asks me for a "declared value"

am i putting what i paid for the coin? ,, what i think its worth? , what its worth at the highest grade? im very confused and i do not want to put the wrong amount.

for example , one of my coins is a 1996 w dime. it is still in the original mint packaging,

the submission form is for ngc , and is as follows:

quantity

coin date

mint mark

denomination

ms or pr

variety

minimum grade

certification #

declared value

most of them are self explanitory , but im confused what to put for declared value.

if someone could please explain how i come up with a price for that box, i would be most appreciative.

also it says to ship in non pvc flips , but other than that , does it matter what kind of packaging i use for shipment?

maybe someone could give me some advice as to that also?

and dont be afraid to talk to me like im slow in the head.

thanks in advance!

Bill makepoint.gif

Declared value is for insurance purposes when they send the coin back to you. The post office will only pay you what the coin is worth should it be lost or stolen. No need to apoogize, we've all been new to this at one time.

Won't they charge extra to take the coin out of the original mint packaging? I thought I read that somewhere recently. I just sent my first batch to NGC last week.