• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Registry points vs. dollar value

10 posts in this topic

I have another question (actually two). I'm a relative newbie, and I'm finding the experience and advice on this forum very valuable.

Here's my hypothetical situation. I have $10,000 to invest in coins. (Invest is the key word here, recognizing that some members don't consider coins an investment). I would like to get the biggest bang for my buck. I've noticed that points assigned to coins in the registry sets don't always have a direct relationship the CDN, Heritage or PCGS values. It would seem that the folks assigning points to the registry coins are applying some knowledge about the coin that is not CURRENTLY reflected in the price. With that lengthy preface, here's my question: Would it make economic sense to give a dollar value to points (say $1), then to purchase coins that were significantly higher than values posted in the CDN? Would these coins have a greater potential for appreciation?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Michael

If you're looking at coins as an investment, the Registry(s) are the wrong direction to turn. Unless you're already sitting on a hoard of uber-graded items, you won't increase your $10,000 any and will probably lose most of it depending on what you buy.