• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

wondering if I have a mint error
1 1

9 posts in this topic

Hello, I'm a newbie but have a question.I just received a 1986 1oz gold eagle and I can see if I can post pics but if you hold the coin with lady liberty standing then flip the coin horizontally the type 1 eagles are upside down??? Now I have looked at pics of the same coin and none are like mine. Is this a Mint Error or am I crazy? Thank you.

Welcome to the NGC chat board.

It is preferable that you post clear, full images of each side of the coin as well as those that will show us what you think is anomalous. Such images may also enable us to express other significant opinions about your coin, such as regarding its authenticity.

All U.S. coins are supposed to be struck in a "coin turn", meaning that the dies are oriented 180 degrees apart. When you are looking at the obverse ("heads") side right side up, the reverse ("tails" side) should be upside down. However, if you flip the coin over top to bottom instead of just turning it, both sides will appear upright. I'm not sure what you mean by "flip[ping] the coin horizontally". When you do this with another U.S. coin, including pocket change, are the results different?

Sometimes coins are struck from "rotated dies" that vary from a few degrees of a true "coin turn" (little or no value) to a full "medal turn" in which both sides are oriented in the same direction and usually worth some premium. (The value of a one-ounce gold bullion coin will currently be largely based on the price of gold.) See the following article from the NGC website: Mint Error Coin Chronicles: Rotated Dies Error | NGC (ngccoin.com).

On 10/9/2024 at 4:19 PM, Rob2024 said: