• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Worth submitting? Ideas on grade for tier purposes?
1 1

12 posts in this topic

Semi newbie here, I recently joined NGC as I have a few coins I’d like to get certified and graded. This one is an 1860-O Silver Dollar- curious if any experts out there think this is worth getting certified? And if so, maybe an idea on what grade it might get so I know what tier to submit it under? I would hate to overpay unnecessarily, or underpay and it’s worth much more and I potentially lose money for insurance purposes if it’s lost. 

IMG_3385.thumb.jpeg.f0cc4c3e384a8096a41493c1b97a14bf.jpegIMG_3385.thumb.jpeg.f0cc4c3e384a8096a41493c1b97a14bf.jpeg 

IMG_3386.jpeg

Welcome to the forum, very nice seated liberty dollar.   Yes this coin is valuable enough to be worth having it certified, but if you don't mind my asking why do you want to submit this to a third part grading firm?   If selling is your goal then certification can help with liquidity and is one reason for certification.   From your photos it looks to grade low AU or possibly XF, which would support the dollar value written on the 2X2.   At that value the standard tier is what you should use, best of luck if you do decide to submit and please stop back by and let us know how it goes.

Just for a comparison, this is my 1860-O SLD graded by PCGS as XF45

CRO 1860-O SD obv.jpg

CRO 1860-O SD rev.jpg

Edited by Coinbuf