• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

2003 2oz Australian Kookaburra. Mint other than some minor scratches. Is it worth submitting?
1 1

12 posts in this topic

Hello to you all,

I'm a newbie at grading. While I've been collecting for a while now, I'm just not sure which coins are worth submitting. So for my first ever post and question.

I have this beautiful 2003 2 oz Kookurra, the reverse is perfect to my eye, but the obverse has some scratches on the Queen's face which really bummed me out.

So, does anyone think I should give it a shot and send it in. Thanks to you all in advance and I look forward to talking or chatting with you guys in the future!

All the best,

Billy

IMG_0441.jpeg

IMG_0440.jpeg

Thanks so much for your input. You just confirmed what I was thinking. That spot you were referring to, it is just a reflection. I hate those milk spots.

I love the kooks as well. I have 21 graded a 70 so far, so I still have a ways to go...an expensive one at that. Thanks again, I really appreciate your advice.

If this came in a plastic capsule, it should have been left alone. Each time a coin like yours is exposed to air the chances of contamination increase. Since there is no economic advantage to having someone else tell you what you should already know, there is noting you your to gain.

It did come in its original capsule. I only opened it once to take pics. There's nothing wrong in asking for advice since I've never submitted a coin for grading. There is certainly nothing to gain from your reply.

On 7/23/2024 at 6:02 PM, BillyC41 said:

It did come in its original capsule. I only opened it once to take pics. There's nothing wrong in asking for advice since I've never submitted a coin for grading. There is certainly nothing to gain from your reply.