• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1965 Canadian Dollar Large Dot Blunt 5
1 1

8 posts in this topic

I acquired a decent size collection of foreign coins recently. There are 1973 Turkish coins that seem to be nearly uncirculated.   There are 1969 U.S.S.R. coins that seem to be without a scratch and many others as well. 

But this 1965 Canadian Dollar coin from what I have read seems to be a rare one. But I was hoping for a little insight from some more knowledgeable people.   I am relatively new in the foreign coin area.  20240128_230751.thumb.jpg.fe854a10a1f917d822e40b9965ec2517.jpg20240128_230736.thumb.jpg.18cf7eed2019d3c29970d40d0d823cc0.jpg20240128_230720.thumb.jpg.0bcd62c83dabbe2d055547dacd2b80b0.jpg

Don’t know where you read that but there were 5 varieties of the 1965 silver dollar, none of which are rare.
The first 4 of which yours is part of all have the same approximate value, especially if circulated.
Variety 5 which is the only variety with Medium Beads is worth a little more as it is harder to find.  
I have all five varieties in my silver dollar collection, non of which cost me more than $35.00 in MS condition.   
It is the 1966 Small Bead that is rare and is worth 4 figures in MS shape.

Edited by Greenstang
Add copy

Ever walk out of a movie, totally dissatisfied, feeling like you want your money back?  That's the way I feel here.  Let me explain. 

Take another look at that topic. What where and when did you read that the 1965 Canadian dollar is rare -- with no attribution or explanation?  Name your source!