• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Newbies and their microscopes :-)
1 1

4 posts in this topic

Let me start out by professing that I’m a relative newbie with a microscope.  I would like to educate the older guys how I got here… Right, Wrong, or indifferent 

1) I started at looking at some of my proof eagles under my wife’s biology microscope, man are they pristine!!!  Amazing!!!

2) (positive) started searching coins with a mag glass.   What a strain if doing it more than 10 min.  I can pop a coin on my cheap Amazon $50-$100 microscope and get an HD image of the whole coin. 

3) (negative) I see the DDR and DDO variety plus on NGS, figure you guys already found the easy ones, I’ll look for the 1968 D FS-008 variety that you guys with glasses missed.  You can’t tell me you would see that with 5x.  You may see a slightly wider E if you notice it and you are focused on what your doing, then you will need to a scope anyway.  Why would anyone want that anyway? Cause I don’t have any cool mistakes in my collection.

But like I’ve said, a lot of searching and never found anything so now heading back to pristine coins. 

Just such an interesting hobby.  I know you guys hate new guys with scopes but thought I would give my perspective since it seems you guys started collecting is an older generation and may not know how we got here.

IMG_7893.jpeg

IMG_7892.jpeg

🐓:  Welcome!  What a shock it is to read virtually heretical thoughts on this Forum! When I casually mentioned my use of an antique jeweler's 30-power loupe, I was roundly condemned, eviscerated, disemboweled and discarded by the professional crowd boasting 150 years of numismatic experience amongst them.