• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

price guide for a 1882 Trade dollar PF 66+ ??
1 1

5 posts in this topic

Hello,

I am relatively new to buying  US coins and would appreciate knowing the approximate value of a 1882 trade dollar PF 66+ certified by NGC that I would like to buy.  Could someone pls let me the approximate sale value?  Thanks

Welcome to the NGC chat board. As the NGC Registry forum is for topics pertaining to the NGC coin registry, this question should have been posted and would receive more attention on the "Newbie Coin Collecting Questions" forum. The Administrator will most likely move it to that forum by early next week.

I'll attempt to answer your question and then give you what I believe to be some very important advice. I assume that NGC did not give this coin a cameo ("CAM") or ultra cameo ("UCAM") designation, which would result in higher list prices.

The only retail price guide to which I have ready access that provides prices for certified coins given "plus" grades is the PCGS Price Guide, which also tends to have the highest--in my opinion, often too high--prices.  An 1882 Trade dollar (a proof-only issue as are all after 1878) graded "66+" currently lists $16,500 on the PCGS Price Guide. (The grades for coins graded "66" and "67" on that guide are $14,250 and $25,000 respectively. Coins given "plus" grades usually price closer to the lower than to the higher grade.)

The NGC Price Guide lists this issue at $13,500 in PF 66 and $25,000 in PF 67.

The Summer 2023 CPG Coin & Currency Market Review, in contrast, lists this issue in "66" at $9,750 and "67" at $19,800. Although CPG purportedly lists dealer to dealer prices, I have purchased coins at major auction venues and from dealers at below CPG and other list prices.