• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Proof Lincoln Pennies

6 posts in this topic

Hi All,

Mine is a true "Newbie" question - even though I have posted questions before.  I'm not a penny expert, and who wants to fake a no value coin?

I found a bunch of proof pennies at a coin store today and made an offer for the whole lot.  But I found 2 pennies that have this weird 'halo' (for lack of a better term) on the 1970-S's.  I did not see the same thing on any others - just those 2.  They look kind of cool, but what is that 'halo'?  (Also looks like Lincoln got shot again!)  The backs of the coins look normal.

image.thumb.jpeg.fa0a844ebf3ccb1385e585571af42628.jpeg

Second question: Many of the pennies were corroded and the zinc(?) or green corrosion was showing.  What causes that kind of corrosion?  Pictured is the worst one.  Is this corrosion "cancerous?  If I stored them in a roll with good coins - will they corrode the others (electrolysis of some sort)?

image.thumb.jpeg.66ac3a2d9acae3f7ce1269b1973d677b.jpeg

It's amazing the faults you find when you photograph something!  (Is this the government's fault?)

Lemme know if you have time.  

God Bless,

Chris

This is "toning" (formerly called tarnish or oxidation) that I've seen form on proof cents of this vintage, including pieces still housed in mint sealed proof sets.  They are genuine and would be considered "red and brown" instead of full "red".  (When severe this toning could be viewed as corrosion or environmental damage.) Copper coins are highly susceptible to this.  While this toning can form because of contaminants on the coins from the minting process, it helps to store coins in a dry (low humidity) environment.