• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1964 PF or SMS Jefferson Nickel?

13 posts in this topic

I'm new to coin collecting and game come across a Jefferson nickel that had me perplexed. How can you determine the 1964 SMS from the 1964 Proof Jefferson nickel? I've found one that is reflective throughout both the obverse and reverse. It has a sharp square edge rim, no frosting, no doubling, distinct features, and was found in circulation. It appears shinier than a satin finish but it's not mirror-like with frosted details.

Hello and Welcome to our little community, Terri Lynn!!

Yep.....definitely a proof.  The listing on our host's Coin Explorer page for the 1964 SP Kennedy Half Dollar does a great job of explaining what the 1964 "SMS" coins actually are and why it's pretty much impossible that you'd just come across one:

https://www.ngccoin.com/coin-explorer/kennedy-half-dollars-1964-date-pscid-44/1964-50c-sp-coinid-76045

The story told there applies to all denominations of the 1964 SP coins, not just the half dollar.

Edited by Mohawk

No Special Mint Sets or individual coins were made in 1964. The link posted above is filled with assumptions, distortions, ignorance, and outright lies intended to deceive collectors.

On 9/8/2021 at 10:29 AM, RWB said:

No Special Mint Sets or individual coins were made in 1964. The link posted above is filled with assumptions, distortions, ignorance, and outright lies intended to deceive collectors.

Did you read the latest version? They’ve pulled back on the worst aspects of the old story.