• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

No Gold 7070 Typeset Strategy?
2 2

6 posts in this topic

First, a disclaimer... I am a total beginner coin collector (as my handle-name implies).  I started collecting coins in April of 2020, but I have been reading tons and have made a few connections in the hobby that have helped me a bit.

Lately, I have been buying PCGS and NGC graded coins to complete a 7070.  I originally wanted to keep the set MS+ if at all possible.  Most of my coins are MS64-67, and many have been CAC approved.  As I move back in time, I can see the costs driving-up dramatically (Seated and Capped/Draped coinage in particular).  I base my pricing estimates off the Greysheet and completed Ebay and private auctions to ensure a fairly competitive price point.  I am ready to step-out into the bigger coins, but I will have to make some tough choices on what I can do next.  I have seen historical sales soften on some coins, while increasing on others, but I do not have the timespan in the hobby to understand decades-long trends to make more educated decisions.  

I understand the attage, "buy what you like".  That said, I would like to better understand the historical market dynamics on a few of these coins, and get your advice on "If you were building a typeset and wanted to buy one of the "bigger coins", which one would you choose first?"  Are there coins that are cheaper to buy now, and others should wait for further depreciation?  I have been thinking about the following coins:

• Classic Head Large Cent - MS62BN
  • Seated Dollar (no motto) - MS64
  • Capped Bust Quarter (Large Diameter) - MS63

And - are there others within this range that I need to add to the list of targets?  Thanks in advance for the advice, and sorry for the long post.

Neo