• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1914 caballito un peso

11 posts in this topic

I have 3 1914 caballito un pesos. They're in good shape, never graded. I was told they're worth quite a bit. Does anyone have any info on this, I'm very green to this stuff. 

received_295093514942943~2.jpeg

received_932352137284905~2.jpeg

Welcome to the forum. I am afraid your coin is a fake. I do not collect these, and I am no expert in Mexican coinage, but I have seen quite a few fake coins, and this one has that look.

Ok, I will definitely take that into consideration. I got it from my wife's dad down in Mexico a couple of weeks ago. Here is all 3 of them. I went to a coin shop today and he said he wanted it graded before he bought it. He didn't mention anything about fake, but like I said, it very well could be. I just don't know. 

received_932352137284905.jpeg

received_295093514942943.jpeg

Edited by Cmcnutt11

Very poor definition indicates fake. Might make interesting drink coasters. No collector value.

Ok, so what do you suggest here? Should I send it in and see if they really are fake? I don’t know if I’m willing to risk a possibility of something that is worth 3-4K each, just because it “may” be fake. Coin guy said at least it’s real silver, so heck, if anything, I’ll just save them for that. Real suggestions rather than satire jokes?