• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

How do i go about this one???

8 posts in this topic

So yes i am new to this and in fact preparing to send off my first few coins to be graded. Among these is a 1960 no mint mark Franklin halfdollar uncirculated full bell lines. Beautiful. Except on the reverse there is dd in e pluribus unum and it is very obvious. My microscope is being troublesome and wouldnt just let me take the picture with computer like usual so i appologize for the stupid picture moment but i really wanted you guys to see it good. 

I know the previous mint year had ddr in the same place and year after in obverse i think. But nothing is documented for 1960 and not on the list of acceptable known errors for ngc. 

Is it possible that this was printed on a prior year reverse? How would i be able to get this graded and have the error recognized if it isnt allowed in their database? How would i even be able to guess value without anything to compare to? 

Please help. I would like to send off first round of collection by the end of the week and submitting this one is going to be a big hold up. Thank you for tolerating my ignorance. I feel foolish asking this. 

20200203_212159.jpg

20200203_211610.jpg

I don't think that's a doubled die, just mechanical doubling. Can't give an opinion on the FBL, since we don't get a usable picture of the reverse. Assuming (no offense, just being candid) that if you don't recognize mechanical doubling, you probably are not a highly experienced FBL judge, if it were me I'd look up what the value of an MS-63 1960 Frank is (in my recent magazine, $18, meaning retail probably $13), and ask myself if I could live with that outcome from the grading service.